GuilFest 2011 - Lineup

Department S

Department S returns with a two-track download single featuring God Squad Saviour, penned by guitarist Sam Burnett (Ex Back to Zero and Rubella Ballet). Alongside Michael Herbage (Guitar) and Eddie Roxy (Vocals) is Spandau Ballet drummer John Keeble on drums and percussion.

God Squad Saviour is the dark brooding tale of a serial killer with a religious fixation, which sees no redemption for either victim or murderer. The track is built on layers of open stringed drones and feedback guitars, with a vocal delivery that leaves the listener in no doubt of the severity of the protagonist's aims. With sparse but powerful drumming from Mr Keeble, God Squad Saviour was produced by art rock renegade Terry Edwards. We advise that you do not listen alone in the dark!

Complimenting the lead track is a previously unreleased recording, Slave, recorded totally live in the studio. Penned by Roxy & Herbage, this monster slab of knuckle dragging punk rock glory is a tale of London's underground S&M scene. Played in the spirit of The Stooges and The Saints more than The Clash or Sex Pistols, Slave will rock your socks off whilst putting a smile on your face. Made to be played LOUD!

2010 saw Department S back in action and fighting fit on the live circuit with the other original members Stuart Mizon & Mark Taylor alongside Roxy, Herbage & Burnett. The band played in the UK and Europe with the likes of Echo and the Bunnymen, Psychedelic Furs, Fallen Leaves, Marc Almond , Stiff Little Fingers, The Rezillos and The Fall. 2011 sees appearances at Wickerman Festival in Scotland and Hertals Rock City Festival in Belgium confirmed alongside London dates with Subway Sect and Spizz Energi. With new album Mr Nutleys Strange Delusionarium imminent, this year looks to be another exciting one aboard the good ship 'S'.

click here to close this window | click here to return to the lineup